Welcome to Tokyo Meet Market

Hit Love song of Japan – January

Posted on: January 28, 2010

When I was studying sociology of pop culture, I learned that we listen to the music we most identify ourselves with at the time. Therefore, hit Love songs represents how people think about love and romance.

For me, at the moment, the songs I have been listening the most these days are… According to you – Orianthi, Battle field Jody Sparks, Bad Romance – Lady Gaga… hmm it seems that the Sociologists are right. I think these songs do tell you about how I’m feeling about love and romance these days.

So what kind of love songs are on the Japanese hit charts lately? To be honest, I don’t listen to Japanese pop music at all. I really don’t find Japanese music industry interesting, and I think Japanese people are good at many things but not just good at singing. I’m most turned off by the popularity of huge boy bands and girl bands, but much bigger in size than backstreet boys or NSYNC, there are 10+ boys and girls singing in unison together. They sounds like a horrible school chorus! Well, I guess it’s like any other country, there is the mainstream crap, and there’s the underground awesomeness… but I’ve got no time to discover them because I’m very busy with my favorite bands and DJs from the US, UK, France, and Germany.

Exile: 14 men sing together in unison, so cool!

#2 Hit: Can we go back – Kumi Koda

The song is about a girl wishing to get back with her ex. “Can we go back to the way we used to be? The butterfly has returned now. Can’t we just throw it all out , it’s easy to give up but it shouldn’t stay like this. So back to the way we used to be,” she says things she doesn’t wanna give up on them yet, and make some changes to get back. “Oh can we go back, getting used to losing. I used to be fearless when I was a child, but nothing comes out of losing battle. Baby can we try,” I guess she growing up and has more fears but she really thinks they had something important to give it another try. Hm, nothing surprising here, it’s pretty much like any other after-break-up-wooing-back song. By the way, Kumi Koda would be like… equivalent to Christina Aguilera, as you can see in the below pic (reminds of Christina in Dirty or Fighter), known for her sexy attitude.

#3 Hit song: Always by Miki Nakajima

This is more like  what I know as the typical melancholy over-dramatic Japanese love song. Compared to Kumi Koda’s Can we go back, Always is a melancholy breakup song of a girl being overly nostalgic about her love for her ex. But unlike Can we go back, this girl doesn’t have the guts to ask her ex to be back,she’s just sulking in her room being nostalgic.

“I felt like I could see tomorrow just from your smile. I would probably run to you, even if that means hurting someone. I still miss the warmth of your hand, in the crowded street, we held eachother in silence. Love changes like season, I know that but I thought with you it would different. Good bye – would you forget me, or the nights we dreamed of eternity. Can we still smile together – on the day when we lose eachother. Even if our days were just mistake, it’s ok”

Hm, I don’t know what I think about this love song. I have listened to many more break up songs that has more attitude and stronger message about where we should go from there on. This “Always” song isn’t my style

yep, she's definitely sulking in her bed

#9 Hit: Last Kiss – Choshinsei

Another breakup song, but this one is by a guy… oh, excuse me, it was a band of 6 boys.

“The last kiss was so sudden, I can’t forget you. One more time! I want you back. Just take me back  to the days we were together,  somebody just take me back back back I wanna be back there and kiss kiss once again I miss you. “Can we meet up tonight” I was excited with your sms with no idea until I saw you. Why do you look at me with sad look. You don’t say a word, you are not as usual. With tears in your eyes, you gave me back the pair ring (a pair of rings couples wear casually as sign of being together) you said “I’m sorry and gave me a last kiss.

The last kiss was so sudden, I can’t forget it. One more time! I want you back. Kiss of tears, tasted so sad I can’t forget.  It’s still on my lips. Why, tell me why such sudden Goodbye. No phone call from you since then, it’s so hard to understand. I’m alone lost my precious girl. Can’t forget your love even after some time. It hurts me to thing of you, I realized after breakup, you were lonely, I did not understand, I’m sorry but I want you back one more time”

Excuse me, which one of you was I dating? I forgot!

Lost of break-up and wanna get back with you song on the hit list this month! Time to get back with your ex if you don’t wanna be lonely for Valentine’s day

1 Response to "Hit Love song of Japan – January"

I got what you intend, saved to fav, very nice website .

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 133,972 hits

Past articles

What is Tokyo Meet Market?

From the Western perspective, what goes on in the Japanese dating scene is really different and interesting! In this shy nation of Japan, meeting new people is almost institutionalized, dating and romance is littered with conventions that protect people from social awkwardness. What are dating conventions and rules in Japan? How do the shy Japanese people meet new people, develop affection, and express their passion? As I research and answer these question, I will write a real time report of what's going on in the Tokyo dating scene, or the "Tokyo Meet Market" here in this blog. I hope you enjoy my blog and a trip around Tokyo Meet Market with me!

Cherie’s tweets

  • is so sad to go to farewell party of her bestfriend leaving to the US. Another beautiful funny successful girl leaving Tokyo!! 4 years ago
  • Ate a bowl of toshomen for lunch, super delicious! Check it out: http://r.gnavi.co.jp/g314410/ 4 years ago
  • getting warmer in Tokyo! The spring is just around the corner which means... love in the air! 4 years ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

