Welcome to Tokyo Meet Market

Tokyo date report #1: Yurakucho boy

Posted on: February 18, 2009

Continued from Gokon report #2: gokon by the book

Romance meter: 12%
Conclusion: Though the overall date was not so bad, with mediocre food and mediocre polite conversation, I was mostly annoyed by how the boy could not talk with eye contact. His lack of confidence and attitude did not motivate me to see him again.

Genre: dinner date
Show time: February 17th 7:30 pm
Running time: 120 min
MPAA rating: PG
Cast: me and Yurakucho boy

Synopsis:
“Yurakucho boy” was one of the participants of the Friday night gokon from 2 weeks ago. Since our workplaces are just one station away, and our birthdates are just one day away, our conversation flourished as we absorbed more alcohol. We parted with casual promise to have a lunch in the future ,and  after several exchange of text messages, the Yurakucho boy asked me out for dinner at a thai restaurant.

I arrived 5 min late and was surprised to see that he was a little shorter than me with my heels, but I politely talked about the cold weather of Tokyo in February. We started the dinner with beer and his back pain and  after we decided on the appetizer, we gave a polite little toast with him looking at the chopsticks. (ugh, I don’t like men who don’t give eye contact while giving toast)

I had decided not to smoke for the date, but as our conversation went on and on about his work, his guitar practice, his back pain, his work, his weekend snowboard trip that gave him more back pain, then his work again, then his family, then his back pain, then his favorite alcohol… it was a time for me to have my cigarette.
After he was done talking about all aspects of his life, and I had started to feel full, with thai food and his story, it was time to go because he could no longer sit because of his back pain. I followed the rule and offered to split the bill and he told me to pay a little less than half of the bill. We parted in the station politely, but I could not be polite enough to say “see you soon”

Review:
I had learned before the date, as I wrote in Dos and Don’ts of the first date, that I should ask questions and listen to him. I followed the rule with an expectation that he would eventually ask some questions too. But he did not, he just loved talking about himself so much that it seemed he does not even realized that I was listening, looking at him in the eyes. I think the date was over when he made the toast without eye contact. As the French and the Germans say “taost with eye contact, else it’s seven years of bad sex”… I think it will be seven years of no sex for this poor boy.

Another thing was that he kept complaining about his backache throughout the dinner. It seemed that the alcohol had worsen the back pain and worsen his redness of his face, and he only had 2 drinks! “It’s because of my age, I am 30 years old, already a granpa” was the killer line that really killed my interest in this poor little grandpa.

I just wanna wish that he finds a nice masseuse!koshi

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 168,190 hits

Past articles

What is Tokyo Meet Market?

From the Western perspective, what goes on in the Japanese dating scene is really different and interesting! In this shy nation of Japan, meeting new people is almost institutionalized, dating and romance is littered with conventions that protect people from social awkwardness. What are dating conventions and rules in Japan? How do the shy Japanese people meet new people, develop affection, and express their passion? As I research and answer these question, I will write a real time report of what's going on in the Tokyo dating scene, or the "Tokyo Meet Market" here in this blog. I hope you enjoy my blog and a trip around Tokyo Meet Market with me!

Cherie’s tweets

  • is so sad to go to farewell party of her bestfriend leaving to the US. Another beautiful funny successful girl leaving Tokyo!! 7 years ago
  • Ate a bowl of toshomen for lunch, super delicious! Check it out: http://r.gnavi.co.jp/g314410/ 7 years ago
  • getting warmer in Tokyo! The spring is just around the corner which means... love in the air! 7 years ago
