Welcome to Tokyo Meet Market

Day 77: becoming a quiet observer in TMM

Posted on: March 20, 2009

This week, Friday is a day off because it’s spring equinox. Funny day to be a national holiday but I won’t complain! Anything is great if it gives me three day weekend!

So I spent this beautiful day relaxing, doing things any girl would enjoy. Reading some books in bed, cooked soy milk soup with vegetables (yummmm), long relaxing bath, and getting my nails done in nail salon. Perrrrrfect relaxing holiday.

Then it was time to go back in to the meet market LoL
From 6 to 9pm was a party hosted by some social clubs by alumni in some college and… hmmm… don’t remember what the party was for… oh yes, it was to enjoy drinking with good company as we did back in college. One of the reason I don’t remember very well is because there was no food in the party eventhough the party was scheduled during the dinner time. Alcohol in empty stomache erased my memory.

But I do remember, that there were much more women than men in this party. And these women were aggressive! I could really see the women as the wolves and the men as sheeps surrounded by hungry wolves (who want to get married!) Suddenly I was really convinced, this is where the word Meat eating girls and Grass eating men came from. Looking around the party floor, I noticed that none of the men would go up to a girl to talk to them. It was the aggressive girls talking to quiet men who would stay in their own group of men. It is only after the women come up to men and mingle with the men, these men would act as meat-eaters.

As I have confessed 2 days ago, I have become somewhat tired from TMM, which doesn’t mean I am not going to participate in the Tokyo’s social occasions, but would rather stay as a quiet observer, rather than an active participant. This probably makes me the traditional Grass eating girls, or a princess waiting for a prince to come. But the prince did not come during this particular party full of meat eating girls, and I really got tired from too many cocktails in empty stomache…. nighty night!

1 Response to "Day 77: becoming a quiet observer in TMM"

Very usefull infomaction. Thank you.
Keep it up

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 140,316 hits

Past articles

What is Tokyo Meet Market?

From the Western perspective, what goes on in the Japanese dating scene is really different and interesting! In this shy nation of Japan, meeting new people is almost institutionalized, dating and romance is littered with conventions that protect people from social awkwardness. What are dating conventions and rules in Japan? How do the shy Japanese people meet new people, develop affection, and express their passion? As I research and answer these question, I will write a real time report of what's going on in the Tokyo dating scene, or the "Tokyo Meet Market" here in this blog. I hope you enjoy my blog and a trip around Tokyo Meet Market with me!

Cherie’s tweets

  • is so sad to go to farewell party of her bestfriend leaving to the US. Another beautiful funny successful girl leaving Tokyo!! 4 years ago
  • Ate a bowl of toshomen for lunch, super delicious! Check it out: http://r.gnavi.co.jp/g314410/ 4 years ago
  • getting warmer in Tokyo! The spring is just around the corner which means... love in the air! 4 years ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

